‘Is he looking at me?  Don’t look at me twice buddy, I’ll drop ya.’

Argyle had this baritone that, well, commanded one’s attention.

‘I don’t think he was staring at you, really.’

Charles couldn’t help twisting in his seat a little.  Right there, he learned intimidation, to some, was simply a first language.

‘I know that kid.  His father worked for me at the Plant.  I was chief foreman at the Plant you know, after the mines.’

‘Yeah Sophie told me you used to run the place, before you got sick.  How are you feeling lately?’

‘I’m hurting b’y.  It’s not like it used to be.  Listen, I want to show you something.  See this, this is me when I coached softball.  I was barely twenty-five and look,  I was fit buddy.  And I still had all my teeth.’

‘ You’ve been in a few scrapes since, eh?’

‘Chaz, let me tell ya b’y, I didn’t scare and I didn’t back down.  I didn’t care how big they were either.  You wanna piece of this?  Fill yer boots buddy.  But then I was knocking guys out right and left and I thought oh buddy, this is no good.  I was hurting guys bad, and tough guys.’

‘Well I suppose…’

‘These guys were tough Chaz!  Look, years ago I’m dragged to this drive in for that Godfather thing where everyone’s saying oh these mob guys are so tough and I say a horses head in the bed?  Tough?  That’s not tough! Anyways Chaaaz, you old dog, what was it you wanted to ask me about my daughter?’

‘Oh, yeah, that.  It’s nothing, really, it can wait.  So, what would you have done to that guy in the movie?’

‘Dropped him.  But not soft like.  Hard.’  With scant hesitation, Argyle let out a hearty chuckle.

Charles didn’t even try to hide his smirk.  He had to admit that, in his own wry way, and despite first impressions, Argyle did have his moments of unvarnished charm.

‘I like you Chaz.  You’re good b’y.  Here, have another shot of rum.  But stay away from that shine buddy, its poison, poison.’

